The Problem With SW:TOR

19 Dec

You’re sitting at your desk, mindlessly surfing the internet, when suddenly your inbox receives a new message. Curious, and with nothing better to do, you tab over and find…

Yes, this Star Wars Early Access Email is from gmail. The old, superior version.

Star Wars Early Access Email

The Star War: The Old Republic Early Game Access Email! The one you have been dreaming about getting night after night; the one that has promised you blasters and, more importantly, LIGHTSABERS; the one all your friends have already gotten because they didn’t wait to preorder the game until October like you did, meaning they already had spent DAYS chortling about the game while you sat and collected herbs and did that new raiding thing in WoW, seething at their forethought.

Quickly you open up the email and scan its contents. “Your wait is over,” it boldly states, before demurely suggesting you click on the “Get Started” button. You do, of course, and are greeted with a page full of instructions. You breeze over the steps. Yes, you’ve preordered; No, there is no beta client for you to uninstall (your heart fills with sadness and betrayal for a brief moment); Yes, you have already pre-loaded the game when they sent that other email; And yes, you most definitely had just gotten that early access email! You feel content, knowing you are now set to play.

There’s just one, teensy tiny problem.

You’re at work.

You raise your hands to the heavens, silently cursing the SW:TOR gods for thinking that the middle of the day would be a good time to send out early access invites, thereby crushing the hopes and dreams of billions* of workers. Your coworkers give you a funny look. You put down your hands and silently curse the heavens with fewer movements.

*Probably not billions

The urge to play rises. If only the email had come the night before, or early in the morning; you could’ve stayed home to play then, maybe even have called in sick —

Ah ha! That was it! All you need to do is contract a fake illness immediately and get sent home! Brilliant!

“Uhn,” you groan loudly, simultaneously holding your head and your stomach. “I suddenly don’t feel very well. It must have been something I ate.”

Your coworkers give you dubious looks but continue to surf the web, presumably.

Satisfied with your performance, you collect your things and moan over to your manager’s office to repeat the act.

“Hey, I have a massive headache and stomach from something I ate, I’m sure. I am going home to recuperate.”

She looks at you with no concern or sympathy visible on her face. It didn’t look like she was buying it.

“Just got your SW:TOR early access email?” she asked.

“Er, yes.”

“Me too. I’ll cover for you if you cover for me?”

“Deal,” You reply. What an awesome boss! You wave goodbye and exchange server information before you skedaddle out of the office. Time for some lightsaber action!

This post was inspired by a brief twitter conversation I had with @DiscoPriest. She got her early access email while at work. I had gotten mine shortly before I left for a dentist appointment before going to work. It was very tempting to call in sick for the rest of the day but I persevered.

I’ve been having a blast playing SW:TOR too. I’m really feeling the same wonder and joy I did when I first started playing MMOs, with CoH. Sure, there are some minor flaws, but I can overlook those for all the neat other stuff in the game. I’m loving the dialogue options; I think playing a character in a different style certainly will help with the replay value. And I like the crafting system too, even though it will make me broke! And companions! I love those too! Not to mention that I love Star Wars; this is a great chance for me to reinstate some long forgotten RP characters.

If you wish to find me in-game, I’m playing on Mark of Nihilus (Empire) as Ashandi. I also have some toons on Lord Adraas (both factions, mostly Republic), and Juyo (Republic). I hope you’re enjoying the game so far!

 

2 Responses to “The Problem With SW:TOR”

  1. glyneth December 19, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Welcome to Juyo! That’s my main server as well!

    • Mishaweha December 19, 2011 at 11:50 am #

      Woot! I plan on putting my non-RP Republic toons on there. Well, the ones that I don’t have as much of a well thought out background for. :3

Leave a Reply

