NaNoWriMo 2011 Summary

16 Dec

Now that I’ve posted all of my NaNoWriMo story, it seems like a good time to reflect on what I’ve done and what I’ve plan to do. And then post it on the blog. Because that’s what bloggers do.

What I Have

50050 words, officially, 50777 unofficially.

Ten or so ‘chapters’ written, of variable length, all with horrible titles. Here are links to the Raw Drafts:

Prologue
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9

A general idea of Brulee and Creme’s past.Greetings from NaNoWriMo WINNER 2011 nanowrimo.org

A new character to roll on Feathermoon (Brulee’s sister).

Ideas for their future adventures.

A neat winner’s graphic for NaNoWriMo.

The satisfaction of winning NaNoWriMo three years in a row.

Not too shabby if I do say so myself.

What I Plan To Do

Come up with a title for this adventure.

Edit all the chapters to fix minor mistakes and take inventory of what in there is good to keep, and what should be taken out.

Write out a rewritten plot so it makes a little more sense, especially considering it should mesh with other people’s RP stories on Feathermoon.

Add more scenes with both characters.

Write short stories with Creme and Brulee, together or individually, to get a better handle of their personalities.

And countless things I haven’t thought of yet!

It seems like a lot of work to do, doesn’t it? (Especially with that part about ‘countless things’ that need doing — and I don’t even know what they are yet!) And all of this would be for a story that will never be ‘officially’ published.

A screenshot of Brûlée.(Not that the majority of my writing would have ‘publishing’ as an end goal. However, a lot of people use NaNoWriMo to kickstart a novel they would like to see published, and I ‘considered’ publishing some of my previous NaNo stories (the type of considering that isn’t really serious). But this year’s story, being more or less WoW fanfiction, wouldn’t really be a candidate for publishing, due to a limited audience. And copyright issues, I’m sure.)

A human mage with short orange hair in a brown dress.

Creme - A human mage who becomes an orphan in just the first section! D:

However, I feel that if I’m going to RP with my characters Creme and Brulee, with their punny names and all, I should at least finish this backstory. This is something that never got played out in game, but is very integral to their characters. The only downside of writing this all down outside of game is that it doesn’t involve others on Feathermoon very much at all. It doesn’t explain how Brulee and Creme became associated with Stormwind University (besides being mentioned in passing only once), nor does it involve others even in passing during the events. It makes sense that my story about my characters adventures would, well, focus on them, but it would be nice to have some scenes with others who aren’t just NPCs. Not to mention some people’s characters might actually have noticed Lakeshire under attack and would care to do something themselves…

Have you ever had to merge a out of game story into in-game canon before? Sneakily told everyone ‘oh yeah, this all happened during the last expansion, sorry for not telling you sooner’? Or do you get others to add bits to your draft and integrate them into the final history? Let me know — I think I need some help on this front!

Leave a Reply

