If I Had Started Playing During Cataclysm…

15 Jun
  • Question Marks on PaperMishaweha might have been a Priest instead of a Shaman. (After all, my first character was a Human Priest, shortly before I switched to a Shaman Tauren (as I was immediately enamored with Tauren when we got the game). It’s not to hard to believe that if there were Tauren Priests I would combine the two…)
    • Therefore I would read even more Priest blogs than I do.
  • A Worgen, Goblin, Blood Elf, or Draenei could’ve been my main!
  • I might not have ended up on Ysera with my awesome guildies — we decided to roll on one of the suggested servers, Ysera.
  • I would still be a noob. I don’t learn very fast.
  • Leveling would have been much, much faster, and possibly much more fun.
    • I probably wouldn’t’ve had to ask The SA for so much help with quests, for example!
  • My raiding experience would likely be near zero.
    • I’d be clamoring to try out raids now and work them into my schedule instead of sitting on the side lines.
    • I’d also be really interested in the ‘old content’ raids and would wonder why everyone seems to be sick of this ‘Ulduar’ and ‘Naxx’.
    • ZA & ZG would also not hold as many memories when running them as 5 mans.
  • My Roleplaying would either be increased or nonexistent, depending on if I joined an RP server or not!
  • I wouldn’t have stopped my subscription because of school.
  • “Auction House? What’s that? Sounds like a scary place!”
    • AKA I would be lacking in gold reserves as I doubt I would consider touching the Auction House after only a few months.
  • I wouldn’t have made so many Priest alts to try out their racial spells.
  • … But I still would have a ton of alts.

What about you? How much would be (hypothetically) different if you had joined the game later? Would you have made a different main? Picked a different server? Focused on a different aspect of the game? Or would everything be the same, only shinier? Or if you started playing in a later expansion, what would have been different if you started play sooner? Let me know in the comments!

5 Responses to “If I Had Started Playing During Cataclysm…”

  1. Psynister June 15, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    I wouldn’t be into twinking because I’d still be scared of trying out PvP against people who aren’t noobs.

    I wouldn’t have the resources I do, obviously, and I wouldn’t be obsessed with the Enchanting and Inscription professions.

    I would still be on a horde server, laughing and mocking those fools that chose Alliance. UNDEAD FOR (UN)LIFE!!!

    I would have no idea who the heck Cynwise is.

    I wouldn’t be a leveling blogger, or a blogger at all for that matter.

    I would be in a world full of leveling alts, much like I am right now, only doing it slower and with no idea what in the world I was doing. I would be looking forward to getting to end game to try out this whole raiding thing.

    • Mishaweha June 15, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      Yes, those Alliance fools… Traitor. >.>;

      You make a good point – I probably wouldn’t be reading blogs quite yet! I only really started reading blogs a little after I read WoWInsider.

  2. Screwlewse June 15, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I DID start at Cataclysm and almost all of your list is true. Especially about raiding experience and gold reserves. Those two hit the mark! 🙂

    • Mishaweha June 15, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

      To tell you the truth, my gold reserves didn’t really take off until I started playing the AH a bit! But I had a fair amount from questing and dailies (and begging off The SA), and I know quite a bit of that carried forward through the expansions.

      But I’m sure you’ll start accumulating more soon! Just don’t go buying random things you don’t need! (I would have done that when I started playing but I’m too stingy!)

      Ooo, just thought of another thing: I wouldn’t have tons of mounts and pets! 😄

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. If I Had Started Playing in Cataclysm | Ironyca Stood in the Fire - June 22, 2011

    […] is the final paragraph in Mishaweha’s post at Me, Myself … And All of Them. She asks for comments, but I decided to reply here as my […]

Leave a Reply

