Mishalom PUG Failure

25 Aug

Mishalom, Pally of the Pugs, is trying to get to the WoW level cap using only the LFD tool in WoW! This idea is based off of the original Pugging Pally, Vidyala!

It was over a month ago that I last played on Mishalom (and I’ll be posting this even later), so the PUGs aren’t the only thing I’m failing on. Fortunately, I left some handy cliff notes for myself, and I recorded my current stats, since I wouldn’t remember otherwise. My memory is like a sieve.

However, even without the cliff notes, I still feel a bit guilty for what happened. Let me explain. (I’d continue the quote, but this 1000+ word post is a little long to be called a summary).

It was an afternoon on a weekend; I had some time to kill before going out with The SA that evening, so what better way than queuing up from some random dungeons with the mini-pally? And since he was only 16 at the time, there would be plenty of time to go through several random dungeons. Because, you know, the only thing you get is RFC. And that takes forever. (SARCASM ALERT).

So the queue pops up for the random dungeon after a minute or two, and I accept, as a healer (per ze rules!) And that little window pops up saying who’s accepted… dps, dps, dps, me (healer)… but not the tank. And I immediately thought to myself, “Gee, that’s weird. Tanks always get insta-queues – why would they not accept the dungeon right away?” I couldn’t really imagine any situation where that would happen (I mean, maybe an emergency of some sort that happened exactly when they hit the queue button…), but I wasn’t left pondering too long, because at the very last second the tank accepted the dungeon.

“Oh well, we’re in the dungeon now,” I mused, carefully noting that the dungeon in question was indeed RFC. We all loaded in, and before I even got a chance to start deciding how to buff people, the tank charged in. I’m used to those types of tanks, but it was a little annoying (read: very annoying), because I like warning people that I need to drink a lot as an itsy-bitsy healing pally without heirloom gear (and only one healing spell). And when I say charging in, I mean he went and pulled 5-6 mobs. In RFC, that means you go pretty far down the hallway to get that many for your first pull. I’m trailing behind, mentally cursing chain-pulling tanks… when the tank intentionally leaves the group. That’s right, dude has 5-6 mobs and then drops group.

My thoughts were as follows:

“Oh crap, he just left while tanking a crap ton of mobs.”

“He left on purpose! That’s why he took so long to accept the dungeon – he was just planning to waste our time to screw us over.”

“What a punk! I’m soooooo P.O’d.”

“Oh double crap! I healed him before he dropped group and all those mobs are coming for me!”

That’s right; since I actually bothered to keep up with him and heal him against my better judgment, all the mobs came right for me. As any healer in this situation would do, I immediately backtracked. Some of the dps started to help take out the mobs, at which point I stopped running like a sissy and healed them like crazy. We probably would’ve taken care of the mobs as well, but a fast thinking fellow in group requeued us – heck, I don’t even know if someone actually had to manually requeue us or if it happened automatically. All I know is I got a little dialog box up which I clicked madly between heals, and then was deposited in Deadmines.

LFD PRO TIP

If your tank takes excessively long to enter the dungeon queue, and then pulls as many mobs as possible, don’t follow them and don’t heal them! They’ll either learn to not run ahead of the group, or they were planning to kill-by-absence and therefore it would be best if you didn’t have aggro.

(Aside: Who the heck has the time to go and screw over a low level group like that? You can’t run another LFD group for awhile. I mean, I guess they’re an alt, so they can just move to a different toon when they’re done annoying folks, but is that really worth it? You’re not around to see other people’s reactions, obviously. You just assume that they die and get really mad. But… we didn’t die. I suppose they may have achieved their goal, since it put me into a bad mood for the rest of the wow session, and I still remember the incident. But I feel better now that time has passed.)

And I haven’t even gotten to the part where I feel guilty!

Anyway, the remainder of the group was now in Deadmines, the new instance. I was a little worried, because I was 16, one of the lowest level characters there. And being the lowest level as a paladin healer in these earlier levels is never good. The group (3 from the original RFC group, actually — one of them left besides the tank, though I don’t remember exactly when) actually worked pretty well together. I had to drink often, but we got all the way to the pirate ship with little incident (I think we may of had some issues in the goblin forge room, but that’s usually a 50/50 75/25 90/10 chance as to whether something bad happens there or not).

However… once we got to the pirate ship, we ended up wiping completely. Twice. (My first deaths, I might add!) One time it was my fault too. You know how there are multiple levels to the pirate ship? And there are mobs on all the individual levels? Well, it turns out that when you’re of a certain level range (ie 15 – 17, or so), you are highly susceptible to accidentally pulling the upper-level mobs, merely by walking near their platform. Or underneath their platform. Or looking funny at the platform. Yes, it’s that bad, and I have experienced it before on other characters. With Mishalom, I wasn’t able to keep the distances that I needed to not pull those upper level mobs while still healing the group (it’s harder than it seems on the narrow ramp). And all those extra mobs on the top of the ship + the ones you’re fighting + low-level pally healer = death for all.

Add that to the ‘tank-leaving-the-group’ problem from before, and you have a frustrated healer. Worst of all, I had to bail. That’s what I feel the most guilty about – not seeing the whole dungeon through, like I planned that I would for all of Mishalom’s instances. It’s even in the rules, see?

Thou shalt never abandon thine comrades in a dungeon unless thou hath ‘a good reason’

(For those of you wondering, this is the rule I alluded to earlier when I mentioned I broke one of the rules).

I can justify it to myself, of course, because at that time of the last wipe The SA arrived to run some errands with me, so I had to go right away. I did inform the group of my intent to leave after the wipe… and I probably would’ve just get the upper level pulled again, if I had stayed.

More annoyingly, I know I would have finished the run with plenty of time if it had been the RFC we were in. But I guess that’s what happens when I assume that I’ll always get RFC at the lower levels. At least now I’m making sure I have plenty of time to finish whatever PuG the random dungeon finder brings me — I just need to remember that dungeons weren’t always designed to be run in under half an hour!

Either way, I did ding, so that’s always good.

The Stats In The End

Level: 17 (+1)
Deaths: 2 (+2) Daw, my first deaths.
Drinks Consumed: 36 (+10)
Dungeons Run: 5 (+1); I’m not counting the quick jaunt into RFC, as we didn’t go anywhere. Now, my character sheet on armory says ‘7’, but I think that counts whenever you portal into one, which means it includes the failed RFC run, and when I ran into Deadmines to retrieve my corpse. I’ll have to remember this differential…
–RFC: 4 (+0)
–Deadmines: 1 (+1)

3 Responses to “Mishalom PUG Failure”

  1. Erinys August 25, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    “And that little window pops up saying who’s accepted… dps, dps, dps, me (healer)… but not the tank. And I immediately thought to myself, “Gee, that’s weird. Tanks always get insta-queues – why would they not accept the dungeon right away?” I couldn’t really imagine any situation where that would happen (I mean, maybe an emergency of some sort that happened exactly when they hit the queue button…), but I wasn’t left pondering too long, because at the very last second the tank accepted the dungeon.”

    In my experience 85 percent of tanks leave it to the very last second before hitting accept. I’m beginning to think that it’s one of their ways of reinforcing their superiority over the rest of us mere mortals.

    • Mishaweha August 25, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

      Really? That was the first – and last – time I experienced that with a tank. Of course, I haven’t run an 80 LFD in a loooooong time so maybe the behavior of tanks have changed…

      (But if I was tanking, I would totally hit da button right away!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Late Night Puggin’ « Me, Myself… And All Of Them - September 17, 2010

    […] might have been tempted to leave too, if not for remembering the golden rule I broke last time. I told myself I’d stick to it, even if it killed […]

Leave a Reply

