Saturday Sketch – Katiea in Plate

31 Jul

To keep up with the image theme for this week, I’d like to present yet another Sketch Saturday.

This particular sketch I drew in my notebook during a rather boring meeting that didn’t really involve the work I was doing for the project. It was a really long meeting too, which is why this sketch has a level of ‘detail’ my meeting sketches usually don’t have:

Katiea, a blood elf paladin, wearing spiky plate armor.

Katiea in plate. Healers always wear plate like this, right?

It’s Katiea! You remember her, don’t you? From that sketch before? The awesome healing pally!

“But why is she the subject of your sketch from work?” you may ask.

I’m so glad you asked. You see, Katiea and I were talking about paladin gear, and how that she hated the fact she had to heal in a skirt — she would much rather be wearing pants! So when I decided to sketch her character during work (as additional practice for another drawing, I think), I gave her a tough outfit. With pants. And if tons of spikes aren’t tough, I don’t know what is.

Now, the mace is sized at ‘ridiculously large’, but I figure the nob at the other end is a ridiculously dense counterweight so it makes perfect sense. PERFECT SENSE.

Other than that, I rather like the armor design, which is based on the standard ‘leveling plate’ found in Northrend (even if I made some of it rather large to fill up space. >.> )

So what about you? Have you ever doodled something neat during meetings? Or been annoyed that your healing plate = a plate skirt which is barely physically possible (at least not with complications?) Do tell!

-Misha

4 Responses to “Saturday Sketch – Katiea in Plate”

  1. antlergirl August 1, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    I doodled a lot during well… anything basically. I can’t do it at work since I have to keep typing, but in my eyebreaks I tend to draw now and again. I love your drawing ^^

    • Mishaweha August 1, 2010 at 4:21 am #

      I doodle during my breaks sometimes too. 🙂 And I’m glad you like it!

  2. Erinys August 1, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    I doodled all the way through three years of math class. Luckily there was a huge rose bush just outside the window, so I got rather good at drawing roses.

    I have to admit, I never quite got why paladins have to wear dresses so often. It’s not as if warrior or deathknight tier comes with a skirt (or kilt). I would however love some big scary spikey one and two handed healing weapons. Ones that look like they would hurt if someone hit you in the face with them.

    I particularly like the spikes on the boots, good for kicking dpsers who stand in bad stuff no doubt.

    • Mishaweha August 3, 2010 at 11:30 am #

      I’m really not sure how a plate skirt would work, anyway. I think it would be a bit heavy and hard to move around in. It may be good for protection… for the air between your legs?

      (I don’t mind healing in them, though at the time I was wearing healing pants. It was kinda funny, because at the time the only shaman gear that WASN’T a ‘kilt’ was the healing gear, so that was what I was wearing. XD )

      Spikes one boots are always good. 😀 Obviously there weren’t enough spikes on this outfit already.

Leave a Reply

